horseback riding
as far as horseback riding goes theres a few things that i really want to do. 1) barrel race 2) take my (nonexistent, but hopefully soonish-to-be) horse on the death valley ride 3) ride in an australian saddle 4) ride on the beach.
well i accomplished 2 of those goals saturday at gunnamatta on mornington peninsula. getting down there was a bit of a bugger, but it was definately worth it. it was such a nice ride.
i had to leave about 9am (which for me is very early) caught the train for an hour, then a bus for another hour, then had to have a girl from the stables pick me up from the bus stop and take me to the ranch. being bound to public transportation is such a hassel, but it's either that or spend twice as much on a car for the day and probably cause a huge accident with the whole driving on the left thing.
i think it's funny that when they give an experienced rider a horse, it's always the one that bites and kicks at the other horses and has a gernerally bad disposition. scully, my horse, was no exception. but once we got moving he perked up a bit and turned out to be a nice ride.
australian saddles are kind of a hybrid of an english and western saddle. they have the metal stirrups, no horn, and the general shape of an english saddle, but they are bigger and comfier like a western saddle. the ones we rode in were stock, so they weren't true aussie saddles, but i got the general gist. i still like western the best. maybe it's because i'm lazy, but i just hate having to hold my legs up so high and post and have the reings in both hands. it's just way to much work!
they put 8 of us on the ride and took us allong some paddocks (fields), the bush (shrubby forrest), and then onto the beach. on the way there they let us trot our horses a bit. the ride was about half and half experienced riders to those who hadn't ridden much if at all. the first time we started trotting the girl in front of me was about a second and a half away from falling off. instinctively i wanted to start talking her through it having a flashback to my wrangling days, but then realized someone else was in charge and she wasn't my responsibility. it was a pretty good feeling to be able to sit back and relax as opposed to constantly checking saddles and trying to be social. the girl ended up hanging on and i think was starting to get the hang of it by the time the ride was over.
when we got to the beach, half of us said we wanted to canter down it so they just let us go. it was so awesome! the horses sink into the sand so their gate is even smoother than normal and the surf was up and the tide was in so the waves crashed around their hooves. the water was blue, sky was clear and sunny (for a change)...just awesome!
i was kind of surprised they let us go as much as they did. it's a huge liaility thing in the states and at sombrero there was absolutely no trotting or anything for the guests. here - they just don't care. if you fall off, it's your own fault. i like it!








