afl

i went to my first afl (australia football league) game last friday. it was awesome!
afl (aka footy, aka aussie rules) is a great game. we should totally start it up in the states. it's kind of a cross between soccer, gridiron football, and rugby in that it's quick, constant running, you tackle, kick an oblong ball through uprights, and there's no pads. the no-pad thing doesn't seem to stop them from tackling hard though. i wouldn't say it's more violent than our football, but when taking the pad factor into account, it's got to hurt more. these guys are crazy: constantly punching and kicking...they're like little boys fighting over a toy. i love it! haha
i'm a collingwood supporter, but last friday i had the opportunity to go to the hawthorne v. melbourne match with some outdoors club people at the mcg. the mcg is a 100,000 person, oval stadium about 20 minutes walking from my apartment. it's the same venue i watched the commonwealth athletics in, but looks totally different as a footy ground.
games are so frequent (serveral in melbourne each weekend) and the fan base is so spread out (about 10 of the 16 teams are based in melbourne) that it's cheap and easy to get tickets. excluding season ticket holders, all other tickets are general admission, and we got there early enough that we had our pick of seats so we decided to sit high to get a better overall vantage point. we ended up behind this canadian girl and her aussie husband (both die-hard hawthorne fans) who picked up on my american accent right away and started up a conversation. she was relatively entertaining and attempted to give tips on being in australia or explaining the rules of the game. her husband, though, was glued to the match and screaming one thing or the other every 30 seconds. my kind of fan! :)
the game itself was fair... hawthorne was blown out of the water by melbourne loosing 120 to 60 or something like that. but it was still a great experience. each team has adopted a fight song where they change the words to an existing song. both of these teams converted the words from american military tunes such as yankee doodle dandy. maybe we adopted that song from somewhere else, but i still found it pretty funny and couldn't help singing along with our lyrics.
subject change: so the oddest thing about aussie guys is first of all how much they are into thier looks, but more importantly, how open they are about it. they've picked up on the european clothing style around here and have no shame sporting tight, straight-leg jeans, clingy shirts, and styled hair. footy players are by no means an exception.
only in australia is it socially acceptable for a tough, professional football player to gel up his hair before a match. they ALL do it! the style at the moment is this strange half mohawk thing that's highlighted on the tips and all gelled out. i, for one, think it looks competely ridiculous, but who am i to criticize fashion? although i have to point out that no way would any self-respecting guy get away with a look like that at home!
bad hair style or not, they're still great footy players. this weekend i'm planning on going to a collingwood game which i'm super pumped about. i randomly picked them as a team to barrick for at the begining of the season and they've turned out to be having an insane season. at the moment we're tied for 2nd with a 6-2 record. yes - i follow this closely. collingwood, as it turns out, is a team hated by everyone except collingwood supporters. they draw quite the rough, bogan (tough, slummy aussie) crowd who get pretty rowdy at the games. i'm totally going to fit in... i can't wait! go magpies!


